The Southshore Community Centre will be abuzz November 14 while supporters and representatives of the Barrie Community Foundation and the City as well as the families of the recipients, plus friends, all gather to honour the 2017 Spirit Catcher recipients.

Doors will open at 5pm for cocktails and for a chance to talk with your neighbours as you personally meet Members of the Order of the Spirit Catcher and those who will be inducted into the Order at the evening’s celebrations. A sit-down dinner will be served at 6pm as the festivities continue with presentations and entertainment throughout the evening.

The Order of the Spirit Catcher, established in 2000 (replacing the Civic Award of Merit), is the highest honour bestowed by the City to a volunteer (youth and adult) for outstanding service to our community. The City seeks nominations annually for the Order of the Spirit Catcher Award (19+ years of age) and the Youth Spirit Catcher Award (12–18 years of age). Individuals considered for this award must be residents of Barrie who have volunteered selflessly; made a significant contribution to the lifestyle of the community; and benefited others and brought honour to the City of Barrie, through exceptional achievement.

Over the past 17 years, our city has bestowed this honour on some of the finest individuals living in our community. The list is comprised of people from all walks of life. The youth list is astonishing when you look at the immense impact that these young people have had considering their lives are just beginning.

Members of the Order of the Spirit Catcher include Marshall Green, Alf Dick, Conyers Barker, Stan Sinton, Bruce Owen, Peggy Wong, Jack Dunkley, Peter Moore, and Willard Kinzie. Gerry Anderson,  Jack R. Dunkley, Albert and Betty-Anne Logan, Jean Maurice Pigeon, Arch and Helen Brown, Peter Moore, Derek Walton and Willard Kinzie.

The list of Youth recipients is equally as impressive: Amanda Fowler, Amber Knudsen-Elliot, Vanessa Purdy, Kelly, Ann Desjardins, Kathryn Helmond, Kealey Clarke, Sheena Tracey, Keli Perencz, Sheena Tracey, Mackenzie Oliver, Grant Bond, Christina D’Alessandro, Erika Campbell, and Kealy Clark.

The recipient of the Order of the Spirit Catcher 2017 is Erica Curtis. The youth award will be presented to Zach Hofer.

Tickets for the 2017 Order of the Spirit Catcher Awards are $100 and are available online at

The Barrie Community Foundation is a public foundation that builds and manages endowment funds to support charitable activities in Barrie and area. The charitable gifts of many donors are pooled to create permanent, income-earning endowment funds – a nest egg that will always be there to benefit our community.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Share This