Each November, the Association of Fundraising Professionals (AFP) sets aside one special day to recognize and pay tribute to the great contributions that philanthropy – and those people active in the philanthropic community – have made in our lives, our communities and our world.

“It’s a celebration of philanthropy: giving, volunteering and charitable engagement, which highlights the accomplishments, large and small, that philanthropy has made” says Jamie Campbell, President of the AFP Central Ontario Chapter.

Throughout the month of November, AFP’s twenty chapters across Canada are marking National Philanthropy Day by honouring the incredible work by philanthropists, volunteers, corporations, foundations, fundraisers, youth and so many others, and locally, the AFP Central Ontario Chapter hosted a special virtual celebration on November 19.

Eric Dean was honoured after a career in the charitable sector that spanned more than thirty years. Dean recently retired as CEO of the Royal Victoria Regional Health Centre Foundation having successfully led the I Believe and Hearts and Minds campaigns. He previously held roles as Executive Director of the Queensway Carlton Hospital Foundation, Ross Memorial Hospital Foundation and Canadian Blood Services Foundation, and is a longtime Rotarian and founding member of the AFP Central Ontario Chapter.

The Outstanding Youth in Philanthropy award presented by the TELUS Barrie & Simcoe County Community Board was given to the Students of Hope Ambassador Team, a group of youth who actively support the Lighthouse’s Building Hope campaign in Orillia and area.

“This group of passionate, informed, energetic students are much more than fundraisers, and although their goal of raising $50,000 to name a youth room in our new facility was a lofty one, it became evident through our meetings that these youth truly have a heart for what we do as an organization” says Lynn Thomas, Campaign Manager for the Building Hope campaign. “Raising funds is an important part of what these students are doing, but so much more than that, they are key to our future. This team is leading advocacy across Orillia to end youth homelessness by shedding a light on the issue, breaking down stigmas and creating understanding.”

The Students of Hope Ambassador Team includes Alayna Askewe, Shelby Oakes, Ava Lazary, Randy Fogarty, Paige Hannan, Alyssa Mandarino, Teagan Munro, Ethan Odlozinski, Max Odlozinski, Meghan Sawatsky, Hunter Sisson, Chloe Bard, Rachel Jeon, Sophia Armstrong, Drew Hook, and Maddie Sharpe.

Photo (L-R): On behalf of the Students of Hope Ambassador Team, students Megan Sawatsky and Paige Hannan accept the Outstanding Youth in Philanthropy award presented by the TELUS Barrie & Simcoe County Community Board. The two are joined by teacher liaison Katie Prentice and Lighthouse Building Hope campaign manager Lynn Thomas.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Share This