Top cops address national and international concerns

Chief Andrew Fletcher of the South Simcoe Police Service has been elected as a Vice President and Chief Kimberley Greenwood from Barrie Police will serve as First Vice President of the Ontario Association of Chiefs of Police (OACP).

Fletcher joined South Simcoe Police as the Deputy Chief of Police in 2015. He was appointed as the Chief of Police this past April. Representing the OACP is not new to Fletcher, he has previously served on the executive as the Zone 4 Director and as Chair of the OACP Community Safety and Crime Prevention Committee.

Greenwood who is Barrie’s first female police chief has been at the reigns there since 2013.

Also elected to the OACP Board of Directors was Chief Bryan Larkin from the Waterloo Regional Police who will serve as President, and Chief’s John Pare from London Police and Eric Girt from Hamilton Police who will join Chief Fletcher as Vice Presidents. Chief Paul Pedersen from the Greater Sudbury Police Service will serve as the Secretary Treasurer.

The Annual General Meeting and Conference is held each June and provides police executives with an opportunity to debate and discuss current issues, participate in seminars, and receive reports from operating committees outlining programs and projects carried out within the province.

The OACP has more than 1,200 members and represents the RCMP, the OPP, First Nations and Municipal Police Services.  Members are divided into six categories: Active, Honorary, Life, Associate, Associate Retired and Affiliate. The Association’s members maintain a global perspective by going beyond provincial issues to address national and international concerns.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Share This