Bear Creek Secondary School team receives excellence award

Simcoe Community Services presented their inclusion excellence award to the Autism Spectrum Disorder educator team at Bear Creek Secondary School. The award is presented annually to educators and students who promote and exemplify inclusive school environments.

Staff involved in the Bear Creek program includes: teachers Brenna Campsall, Christine Chappel, Rich Olech and Gavin Vanderbyl; educational assistants Diana Alvarenga, Trevor Andrew, Connie Gray, Stephanie Lucchesi, Steve Magee, Stephanie Perry, Shantel Rehhorn, Kate Woudenberg and Jami Zwicker; ABA coordinator Anne Miller and ABA support worker Crystal McEwan.

“Bear Creek’s ASD program has created a learning culture built on a foundation of caring, acceptance, individualization and inclusion,” says Chris Samis, Simcoe County District School Board program and special education superintendent. “The staff who work in this program exemplify many of the (board’s) character attributes, including optimism, integrity, caring and inclusiveness. Their commitment to children and youth with special education needs is inspiring.”

“The Simcoe Community Services inclusion excellence awards show that the compassion, innovation and understanding that local educators demonstrate on a daily basis create meaningful changes in children’s lives,” says Jamie Hall, Simcoe Community Services stakeholder relations manager. “We take pride in recognizing these exceptional people that are dedicated to our vision – to spark the unlimited potential of all people.”

Photo: Bear Creek Secondary School team receives Inclusion Excellence Award.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Share This